Thirty-One and Planned Parenthood

Standard

giveslogo_rIt’s always a sad day to see a proclaimed Christian company support Planned Parenthood, whether directly or indirectly.  I used to be a Thirty-One Consultant.  I loved the company, the products, and the women I worked with.

In February 2012, Thirty-One launched their new Thirty-One Gives initiative with a mission statement that reads, We believe in Her – women and girls. We embrace Her inner beauty and celebrate Her natural gifts. It’s our mission to celebrate and empower Her, helping to strengthen Her belief in herself, strengthen Her family, and to lead a purposeful, thriving life. We do this through Home Office partnerships, Consultant giving, product donations and exclusive Gives products. We believe that by empowering Her, we strengthen families and communities and change lives.”

On the surface, I was stoked to work for a company who gave back to the community.  But I had been fooled in the past donating money to charitable organizations and only later realized my money was being funneled to other organizations that did not fall in line with my biblical beliefs, God’s Word.  What I found on the Thirty-One Gives website pierced my heart.  Was this Christian organization, founded on the Proverbs 31 scripture really donating money to Girls Scouts and YWCA of Central Ohio?  Two organizations who BOAST about their partnership with Planned Parenthood?

When all of this came to light in April of 2012, I made as many contacts as I could and patiently waited for a response.  I was prayerful that Cindy Monroe, founder and CEO of Thirty-One, was misinformed and with the new information given to her, she would address the changes that needed to be made so that her company would stand firm on the Word of God and hold true to their company name of being a Proverbs 31 Woman.  I was sadly mistaken.  Here was their letter sent out to all consultants:

“Recently questions have been raised about Thirty-One and our philanthropy initiative, Thirty-One Gives. Thirty-One believes in celebrating, encouraging and rewarding women. Thirty-One Gives is our philanthropic initiative that ensures this mission is carried out through the celebration and empowerment of women and girls by strengthening their belief in themselves and strengthening their families … actions that lead to purposeful and thriving lives.

We support initiatives that align with this mission, which is why we focus our giving on organizations that support leadership and economic independence for women and girls such as Salvation Army, Women’s Fund of Central Ohio, Dress for Success Worldwide, Girls Scouts and YWCA of Central Ohio.

Thirty-One Gives has not provided any direct funding for Planned Parenthood or any other activities outside the scope of our mission.

Thirty-One Gives supports HER, no matter her circumstances, no matter where she’s been or where she’s going. We want to be there in her greatest time of need and in her greatest time of joy. We empower HER.”

My heart dropped.  I was speechless.  I was working for a company who admittedly supports organizations who DIRECTLY fund Planned Parenthood, an abortion mill for killing the lives of millions of innocent babies.  Thirty-One claims they do not directly fund these companies but when you give them support (of any kind) you are supporting them! Renting a booth at their event is the very same as writing them a check.  This game is called a funding shell; it’s satan’s way of deceiving people and funneling money from one organization to another.  It’s a scary game to play and too many times people are betrayed.

I fulfilled my commitment to my hostesses through the end of year, remaining prayerful and never stopping to reach out to the company.  I continued to sell the products MINUS the line that gave money back to the Thirty-One Gives charity.  It was in December that I was able to finally dialogue with the charities Executive Directors who affirmed to me that I would be pleased with the upcoming changes for the new 2013 year.  I was ecstatic!  God knows my financial situation; He knows my heart for the company; He knows my desires to help our family with the finances.

To my dismay, they did not remove Girls Scouts or YWCA of Central Ohio from their partnerships.  And I knew what I had to do.  I stood firm in my beliefs and God’s word.  I stopped selling Thirty-One and am trusting God to financially support our family.  Faith is the bridge between where I am and where God is taking me and I am faithful God will provide.  I made a nice check every month working for Thirty-One; leaving was a big hit to our family.  But that compares nothing to the contentment in my heart when I faithfully follow God’s standards for my life.

Know where your money goes!  I will remain prayerful that Thirty-One opens their eyes to the Truth and especially the scriptures they were founded upon.  All of us at one time were blind to the truth until God opened our eyes and revealed His love for us.   We must always remember, once we know the truth we are then accountable for our actions or inactions with that truth!

——————-

You might also like:
1. Value Life
2. Say NO to Girl Scouts
3. Abortion
4. Say NO to Susan G. Komen
5. Dump Starbucks

12 responses »

  1. Pingback: Say NO to Girl Scouts | The Judgmental Christian

  2. Pingback: Abortion | The Judgmental Christian

  3. Pingback: Say NO to Susan G. Komen | The Judgmental Christian

  4. Pingback: Dump Starbucks | The Judgmental Christian

  5. Thank you for staying true to your convictions! I have many friends who sell 31, and it makes me cringe when they invite me to parties or ask me to buy from them. When I learned where the money goes, I just couldn’t support them in good conscience. Have you found another way to supplement your income?

  6. Pingback: 2013 In Review | The Judgmental Christian

  7. I signed up to be a 31 consultant without researching because it’s a “Christian company”, right? I signed up on Super Bowl Sunday, Feb. 2, 2014. I was so excited and pumped to do this and help my family with finances!! That was 13 days ago.

    As I was looking through the catalog and my kit, the Thirty-One Gives jumped out at me. I had seen it before but never paid much attention. Well, with the pink ribbon, I asked my sponsor if they supported the Komen Foundation because I didn’t. She didn’t think so and sent me to the web page thirtyonegives.com. I was suddenly deflated when I saw Girl Scouts on the list. I immediately text my sponsor back and told her. She was disappointed as well. I spoke with our director a few days later. I figured I would send a nice email with all the facts about GS to the CEO of Thirty-One, Cindy. I told my director this, and she let me know that 31 knows all that. That there has already been some controversy with it. My sadness grew…

    Not being able to sleep, I came down to research everything I could find, determined to write the best email possible so the company would change! I, then, found this blog. I’m beyond sad. Not just because I know in my heart I cannot participate in this company which would help my family finances, but because a company that was founded on the word of God, Proverbs 31, has slid down that deceptive hill that Satan wants us all to go down. Thirty-One is no longer a Christian company. I do not care how much rhetoric the heads spew out. Even if they aren’t writing their checks directly to Planned Parenthood, they are still supporting it by supporting Girl Scouts.

    I have a book party going on now, with three more scheduled for the next few months. I have four home parties booked within the next four weeks. This was my starting point. I do not know what to do in regards to these already scheduled events. Should I fulfill them? Should I give them to my sponsor if she wants them? Should I cancel with an explanation of why I cannot participate in this company?

    Again, I am saddened that another great company that started on Christ has now gone the way of the world…

Leave a comment